March 29-31, 2002

March 2002 Phoenix Hung Fa Yi Seminar Feedback

I have attended almost all of the Hung Fa Yi seminars presented by Grand Master Garrett Gee between the Headquarters school in San Francisco, the Ving Tsun Museum, and the Regional Headquarters in Arizona. At all of the seminars, I have learned an immense amount from the small percentage presented out of the larger whole of Hung Fa Yi. Aside from knowledge, I have continued to grow in one specific area, my self identity.

I have been training martial arts for over 16 years and have been teaching for more than 8 years. I have also studied and trained numerous martial art forms. I have competed in tournaments, won trophies, and considered myself a competent martial artist. But I was like everyone else, an artist. Art is a personal expression of oneself, it is not a Truism, and it is not a Science.

Before I began training the Hung Fa Yi, I had no self identity. I thought I knew who I was, where my skill level was, and where I was heading. I was wrong. In Hung Fa Yi terms, I was 'Fau Kiu'. I had no concept whatsoever of Time and Space, in my personal life or in the realm of martial arts. Again, I say martial arts because that's all I knew existed. Hung Fa Yi changed that existence.

Every seminar I have attended, the concept of Self Identity has been used extensively. In the beginning, I had no idea what that meant. Through training and attending the previous seminars, I felt I had a good view of my self identity. After attending the Seminar in March 2002, I had what the Hung Fa Yi call, an 'awakening'. With all of the knowledge, all of the details, and all of the skill I thought I had attained prior to and in the Hung Fa Yi, I thought I had a good start down the road to learning the 'Science.' But I was given a rude awakening.